Top Ten Morning Musume Songs

I was thinking while travelling and listening to my Ipod, what are my top ten Morning Musume songs? I’ve came to a conclusion that will no doubt change with time and the release of new singles, also, I’ve not heard every Morning Musume song. Anyway, without further adieu…

10. AS FOR ONE DAY

  • There are many things I like about this song, firstly Kago’s opening monologue presents a mature side of Kago which wasn’t often seen during her time in Morning Musume. Then there’s the introduction to the song, I have a thing for intros, if they’re good generally I can listen to the entire song, and the intro to this song is really good. This song also came after what I consider to be the worst Morning Musume single, Morning Musume no Hyokkori Hyoutanjima and provided a great deal of relief. Yaguchi also gets a fair number of solo lines in this song, and I suppose either Yaguchi or Yasuda were my favourite members at the time of this song. On the subject of Yasuda, this is her last song with Morning Musume and currently last single, so that adds importance to it for me. My only niggle is the lack of lines for Yasuda.

09. Dekiru Onna

  • The c/w to Ai Araba IT’S ALL RIGHT, Dekiru Onna is a great song. The song starts with a line sung by Ishikawa and when I heard it, my initial reaction was “That can’t be Ishikawa!” I’ve never been a fan of the one trick singers, but Ishikawa Rika sounds really good here. The song has a kind of angsty feel to it and it’s theme is based on keeping it with trends (at least that’s how I interpret it). Overall it’s just a very nice song with a great melody and surprsing vocals from Ishikawa, who generally I never really rated in Morning Musume.

08: Never Forget

  • This song is sung solely by Fukuda Asuka to commemorate her graduation from Morning Musume, it is the third track on the single Memory no Seishun Hikari. The main reason I like this single is that it was created with the sole purpose of acting as a graduation song for Fukuda and I wish this had became a tradition carried on in all of the graduation singles of Morning Musume members (a solo c/w track on their graduation single.) I can’t help but feel that in recent graduations (Konkon and Ogawa for example) not enough was made of it. Anyway, the song is a really gentle melody and the lyrics are touching, I don’t know much about Fukuda but I can say she has a great voice.

07: Memory no Seishun Hikari

  • This song comes from the serious-Musume era and I have to say I’m a big fan of that time period. The main melody is really good and there is a little rap in the background sung by as far as I know an uncredited singer. At first when I heard the song I found the rap a little odd but once I got used to it, it wouldn’t be the same song without it. Of course Abe has a majority of lines in this song along with Yaguchi and they both sound great. Nakazawa’s voice comes through quite strongly in this one I think, and overall the harmonies are great. It’s a rather sad song and I think this epitmizes the serious-Musume I speak of. I love the Just Breaking My Heart lines as well.

06: Do it! Now

  • You may be starting to realise I don’t particularly love the hyper-Musume tracks and instead favour the more serious ones. This is Goto Maki’s graduation single and she has a fair amount of lines in the songs, surprisingly it didn’t chart at #1 but it’s still a very good single. I remember seeing the promotional video for the song with my younger sister and when she seen it she asked “Is this song about the trials of fame?” Strangely, no. The PV, in my oppinion makes it seem that way but instead it’s a sort of…well I don’t really know but it’s good, I often find it hard to categorize Hello! Project songs as the topic of the song can change midway, at parts it seems like a break-up song but at others it seems like a love song. I think this song and AS FOR ONE DAY are quite similiar.

05: Osaka Koi no Uta

  • This song is Morning Musume’s 26th single and the last to feature Yaguchi Mari and Ishikawa Rika. It’s an upbeat break-up song, I realise that is a contradiction in a way but I can’t think of a better way to describe it. The song is pretty neat as it is sung in Kansai dialect which is quite cool to listen to, Takahashi Ai has a lot of solo lines in this song and she sounds great but I don’t like it when one member is given too many lines. I don’t really think this song is a fan favourite but it’s definately one of mines, great melody, Takahashi sounds good (if not a little too much) and Yoshizawa’s opening speech really opens the song.

04: Kanashimi Twilight

  • The only recent song in my top ten, this is the last single to feature both major members Yoshizawa and Fujimoto so it’s quite an important single. It’s pop-rock in nature, some compare it to Roman ~MY DEAR BOY~. As has been the case recently Fujimoto and Takahashi have a lot of lines in this song but towards the end Yoshizawa gets her much deserved solo, I’m really going to miss Yoshizawa as a member of Morning Musume and this song suited her very well.

03: Koi no Dance Site

  • This song is so much fun, it follows the huge seller LOVE Machine and it most definately didn’t disapoint. The opening is a little strange and it made me wonder what the song could possibly turn into, but after I got past that, this song was great. It contains the famous Yaguchi line SEXY BEAM! and the little asides by various members (for instance the MAJIssuka) of Ichii Sayaka were quite funny. It’s a fast paced lively song the really wants to make you dance.

02: Furusato

  • This has to be the ultimate Hello! Project ballad, it’s been redone so many times. It’s sung basically solely by Abe, and she does a great job. The song is pretty sad and I think it’s one of the few songs that really seems to actually be about Morning Musume and it’s members. The melody is fantastic and overall it makes for great listening. I don’t know what else can be said about this single, it’s very, very good.

01: Happy Summer Wedding

  • Ta-Da! This single is my absolute favourite (as of yet) for many reasons. Firstly, there’s the irreverent melody which can cheer me up at almost any moment. Then there’s the fact that it’s really the beginning of what many consider to be the golden era of Morning Musume. Nakazawa gets a long monologue in this which sounds great, she really has a very nice voice to listen to. It should also be noted that this single is a great introduction for the fourth generation (mainly Kago though). It’s the last single for Ichii Sayaka. One thing that for some reason always makes me smile is the last word in the song; Happy.

So there you have it, my favourite Morning Musume singles. It’s a bit rambling and my reasons may be a bit out there, but I think I explain it well! Oh, this is how I worked out what my favourites were:

Love

10: AS FOR ONE DAY
09: Dekiru Onna
08: Never Forget
07: Memory Seishun no Hikari
06: Do it! Now
05: Osaka Koi no Uta
04: Kanashimi Twilight
03: Koi no Dance Site
02: Furusato
01: Happy Summer Wedding

Like

Morning Coffee
I WISH
Koko ni Iruzee!
Summer Night Town
Ai no Tane
LOVE Machine
Shabondama
Joshi Kashimashi Monogatari
Namida ga Tomaranai Houkago
The Manpower!!!
Iroppoi Jirettai
SEXY BOY ~Soyokaze ni Yorisotte~
Ambitious! Yashinteki de Ii Jan
Aruiteru
Egao YES Nude

Listenable

Renai Revolution 21
The Peace!
Mr.Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~
Daite HOLD ON ME!
Manatsu no Kousen
Souda! We’re ALIVE
Go Girl ~Koi no Victory~
Ai Araba IT’S ALL RIGHT
Roman ~MY DEAR BOY~
Chokkan 2 ~Nogashita Sakana wa Ookiizo!
Hand made CITY
Odore! Morning Curry

Dislike

None

Argh!

Morning Musume no Hyokkori Hyoutanjima