Review – Happy ☆彡

Koharu Kusumi’s latest solo single Happy ☆彡  was released today in both regular and special editions. The single is much like her last two although even more cute. There isn’t too much to the song, a lot of repatition and some pretty cool musical interludes. The song most certainly fits with Koharu’s solo image and the image of the anime the song appears in. Comparing it to her last two singles, Koi Kana and Balalaika, I’m not sure if it’s as good as either, it’s possibly around the same level but I still prefer both Koi Kana and Balalaika.  Overall, the song for me is around a 5/10 or 6/10.

The c/w to the song, Koi no Mahou wa Habibi no Bi! is much better than Happy ☆彡 I feel, mainly because it’s rather like Balalaika which I liked as well as it isn’t quite as cute as the a-side.  I’d rate the c/w at maybe a 7/10.

Overall, the single as a package is alright, the single isn’t awful but it’s by no means in league with her past releases, the c/w is good which for me brings the whole single up a notch. I’m not a big fan of Kusumi’s vocal skills and I find her voice a little annoying at times, including in Morning Musume songs. I think she can sell the cute image quite well but I’m not sure she can pull it of for too much longer, she’s starting to look a little more grown up.

Anyway, overall, a generous 7/10.

