Review – Too Far Away ~Onna no Kokoro~

Abe Natsumi’s 9th single, Too Far Away ~Onna no Kokoro~ was released 9th May 2007 in both regular and limited editions. The song has debuted at #9 on the Oricon Charts and has since moved down a few places, this is to be expected as the song is both a ballad and although popular Abe Natsumi has nowhere near the popularity she used to.

The song itself is a cover of the 1988 single Too Far Away by Tanimura Shinji and it’s a beautiful melody, sung extremely well. I haven’t heard the original but I think that the A-side Too Far Away ~Onna no Kokoro~ is an updated version of the song with harmonies whereas the B-side is an exact cover of the original song sung solely by Abe with a piano playing. The third track is as always an instrumental. I find it slightly frustrating that both vocal tracks on this single are practically the same song, in fact, I feel that the b-side is a lesser version of the a-side.

The single is frankly very, very nice and is sung beautifully by Abe. I’d have liked if their had been another B-side but overall, I enjoy both versions.

Therefore, I give the single a nice 8/10.