Review – 1st GAM~Amai Yuuwaku~

GAM’s latest album 1st GAM ~Amai Yuuwaku~  was released on the 23rd of March. This review will be a track by track review with a final overall score.

Track 1 – Thanks!

GAM’s first single which was released last September, I’m sure most people reading this have already heard it. It’s a good single though for some reason I can’t help but feeling it would have worked better as the last track of the album. Anyway, this track gets a good 8/10.

Track 2 –  Junketsu ~Only~

The first new track on the album opens with a fairly upbeat feeling to it, it’s sort of disco I suppose. Both Fujimoto and Matsuura of course sound great in this and it’s got a great melody, the chorus especially is really nice. 8/10

Track  3 – Melodies

GAM’s second single, Melodies was released last October and when I first heard it I was totally in love with it, Matsuura and Fujimoto sound great in this ballad though sometimes either one is overpowered by the other in joint lines. It’s good a great melody and I’m sure most of you have heard it and seen the PV. 8/10

Track 4 – Ai no Fune

This track starts in a manner I can only describe as “cheesy commercial,” however after the introduction we are greeted to Matsuura and Fujimoto harmonising very nicely in what becomes a pretty stable melody. The song is a kind of upbeat ballad and is quite enjoyable. Again, the chorus is what makes this track good. 7/10

Track 5 – Koko de Kisu shite

In contrast to track 4 I absolutely love the introduction to this song, it’s pretty fantastic. The melody itself is really good accented with brief violin sections, which are very nice. (I’m having difficulty remembering the technical term at the moment, which is pretty awful considering I play violin). Overall, a strong track. 8/10

Track 6 – LU LU LU

GAM’s latest single, LU LU LU was released on the 21st of March 2007. Ignoring the strange title of the song, LU LU LU is a really fantastic single. I find it pretty hard to fault this one, it has a great opening, great chorus and Fujimoto and Matsuura sound perfect. 9/10.

Track 7 – Ichaicha Summer

When this song started I cringed slightly, the introduction is not of my taste and it overall just sounded pretty strange to me. The song as a whole isn’t terrible but it does have that whispered “icha” repeated throughout it which I don’t like. 6/10

Track 8 – Aijou Oasis

For me, the opening of the song is very important as it’s what allows me to listen to it in the first place. This song has a really nice opening and it’s unlike any of the other tracks on this album. The song as a whole, in need of a better word, is pretty cool. 7/10

Track 9 – …H

Again, ignoring the strange title of this track the song isn’t bad. It’s a disco/dance track and is okay though a little dull for my tastes, it’s lacking much instrumentals and is mainly electronic. The chorus is nice though. 6/10

Track 10 – Amai Yuuwaku

The title of the album, Amai Yuuwaku is an unbeat Morning Musume style song. The song is okay though it’s not really my kind of song, it reminds me of Manatsu no Kousen, though not as good. 6/10

Track 11 – Thanks! (Yuuwaku Remix)

Usaully I don’t much like remixes, but this one is rather good. It takes away the electronic replacements of the original and replaces it with strings, light percussion and piano. This song in comparisson with the original allows you to hear the vocals of Matsuura and Fujimoto better, for me it displays that Matsuura is the stronger singer of the two.  8/10

Overall Score: 8/10 This is a strong first album from GAM with a good selection of tracks and no really awful ones. It’s one of the best Hello! Project albums I’ve seen in a while.

