New Singles for AKB48 & C-ute (2009-06-24)

AKB48 are to release their 13th single on 2009-06-24 titled 涙サプライズ!, Namida Surprise. There is apparently some disatisfaction amongst AKB48 fans as to the members chosen to participate in this single, as I’m not too familiar with any members in particular I’ll have to wait and see what I think after a preview!

C-ute are also due to release a single on the same day titled 暑中お見舞い申し上げます, Shochuu Omimai Moshiagemasu. This is a cover of the song of the same name by 70s J-Pop group, Candies. Incidently SweetS also covered this song. I’m a little dubious as to how this will turn out as covers are often a little disapointing from Hello! Project – I wasn’t a particular fan of COVER YOU. It’s rumored Kanna will return in June so she may participate in this single.

If you remember, Kago Ai is also releasing her debut single on the same day as these two, we have a Kago VS C-ute VS AKB48 situation! While I’d like Kago to do the best I feel it may turn out this way; AKB48, C-ute, Kago. I can’t honestly see Kago charting too high though I’d like to be pleasntly surprised. I don’t imagine she’ll have great promotion as her label is a little unknown.

