The Triple Graduation

Morning Musume members Kamei Eri, Junjun and Linlin graduated from Morning Musume yesterday at their “Morning Musume ~Rival Survival~ Graduation Special” concert.

I’m quite sad to see these three go, Kamei had developed as  a good performer over the years and was one of the funniest members of the group, I hope she recovers from her skin condition and will able to perform again some day in another capacity, I don’t really see her being a solo artist though I have to say.

As for Junjun, she was definitely one of my favourite members, she wasn’t the greatest singer but she had a unique and interesting personality and wasn’t afraid to say things unexpected of an idol and indeed brought life to Morning Musume’s TV appearances.

Linlin, I’m probably the least sad to see Linlin go but that isn’t to say I disliked her at all. I found her zaney personality a little less amusing than Junjun’s but damn could she sing. After Takahashi, probably most talented singer in the group.

Apparently, Junjun and Linlin will remain members of Up Front International in China, as far as I’m aware, the only two non-Japan, non-Taiwan members of UFA.

Picture above is the new 5-person Morning Musume, the smallest group size since the first generation of the group in 1997! The group will grow to an unspecified number after the completion of the 9th Generation Auditions.

