Takahashi Ai to Graduate from Morning Musume

It was announced today that Morning Musume leader and 5th generation member Takahashi Ai will graduate from Morning Musume this Autumn 2011.

I have mixed feelings about this, with the arrival of a new and very young generation, I can understand Takahashi’s decision to graduate from the group although I am concerned about the health of the group. Takahashi is undoubtably their strongest singer and having been a member since 2001, is one of the memorable members of the group.

Source: http://www.helloproject.com/news/1101091700_musume.html

No specific date has been announced just yet, I’m assuming we’ll have a Niigaki Risa leadership with Michishige Sayumi as her sub-leader upon Takahashi’s graduation. I feel this could be a very sad graduation, especially for Niigaki.